George C. Creal Jr., P.C.,
Underage GA DUI Statute | (404) 333-0706

Quick ContactOnline Case Evaluation - firm@georgialawyer.com


The Official Code of Georgia Section 40-6-391 (k)(1) defines an Under 21 DUI as follows:

"(1) A person under the age of 21 shall not drive or be in actual physical control of any moving vehicle while the person's alcohol concentration is 0.02 grams or more at any time within three hours after such driving or being in physical control from alcohol consumed before such driving or being in actual physical control ended."

"(2) Every person convicted of violating this subsection shall be guilty of a misdemeanor for the first and second convictions and upon a third or subsequent conviction thereof be guilty of a high and aggravated misdemeanor and shall be punished and fined as provided in subsection (c) of this Code section, provided that any term of imprisonment served shall be subject to the provisions of Code Section 17-10-3.1, and any period of community service imposed on such person shall be required to be completed within 60 days of the date of sentencing."

"(3) No plea of nolo contendere shall be accepted for any person under the age of 21 charged with a violation of this Code section." What this means is that under 21 drivers face two types of DUI charges: "per se" and "less safe. Per se charges deal with an underage driver driving with a BAC of .02 or having a BAC of .02 within three hours of driving. Less safe charges are when an underage driver is deemed "less safe" to drive from having ingested any type of alcohol or drug."

Most observers, and especially those under 21 and their parents, remark that this is unfair. It is unfair. The Georgia legislature has taken the position that underage drivers have no business drinking at all, and accordingly have instituted what is basically a "zero tolerance" policy for underage drivers. To put this in perspective, a 0.02 breath or blood alcohol content is one beer or less. Further, the stated margin of error for the Intoxilyzer 5000 breath testing machine (the official state breath test) is +/- 0.02 according to the State's training manual. This means that when a person under 21 blows a 0.02 on the Intoxilyzer 5000 breath testing machine, his/her actual blood alcohol level could be as low as 0.00 and as high as 0.04. And you say this hardly seems fair! As the oft quoted Professor Sentell from the prestigious University of Georgia School Law says, "Show me where it says fair on the outside of the Courthouse!"

Its just the system. If you don't like it call your local State Legislator and give him a piece of your mind or run for the legislature yourself! Most underage drivers ask, "Should I blow?" The answer is no - never if you've been drinking. If you blow over 0.02 and under 0.08 you will lose your license for six months. If you blow over 0.08 you will lose your license for one year. If you refuse you will lose your license for one year. Anyway you blow you lose.  However, from 0.00 to 0.05 state law presumes your are sober and from 0.05 to 0.079 state law makes no presumption of sobriety.  This means that it is very difficult to sucessfully prosecute a under 21 less safe dui at these levels.




Bookmark and Share



                                                       

is a trial lawyer with 18 years of courtroom experience. He is one of only 6 Atlanta DUI lawyers with both an AV Preeminent rating from Martindale.com and a 10.0/10.0 Superb rating on Avvo.com. He has over 100 "not guilty" verdicts under his belt and has forged indispensable relationships with police, judges and prosecutors all over the State of Georgia in order to benefit his clients' defense.
George Creal Attorney Profile+


The National Trial Lawyers



READ SUCCESS STORIES ON FACEBOOK FAN PAGE BELOW

 
George C. Creal Jr., P.C., Top Atlanta DUI Law Firm

No legal advice should be obtained from the web site alone. George C. Creal, Jr., P.C. is Georgia Professional Corporation authorized to practice law in the State of Georgia only and all information contained in this web site is intended for use for DUI arrests occurring in the State of Georgia. Individuals with DUI from outside the State of Georgia should contact a licensed attorney in the state of occurrence of their DUI. Copyright © 2014 George C. Creal, Jr. P.C.
Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Checker


 | DUI Alpharetta   |   DUI Athens   |   DUI Atlanta   | DUI Bibb County   


   DUI Conyers    |     DUI Coweta County   |   DUI Decatur   |   DUI DeKalb County 

 DUI Doraville   |   DUI Douglas   |   DUI Douglasville   |   DUI Duluth 






  DUI Smyrna   |   DUI Stockbridge   |   DUI Union City

Atlanta Office Address: 480 John Wesley Dobbs Ave.,  N.E., Unit 190, Atlanta, GA 30312 | Phone: (404) 333-0706

In the words of Mark Twain, "Continuous Improvement is better than delayed perfection." If you find errors or deadlinks please email us at firm@georgialawyer.com, we strive to do better.