Clayton County DUI Information
What to know if you've been charged with a Clayton County DUI
A couple of drinks at Irish Bred after work and you’re pulled over for speeding. Coming home down I-75 South after a couple of beers at the Braves game and all of the sudden there are blue flashing lights in the rear-view mirror. Drinks at New Quarters in Jonesboro and now you’ve got a DUI. Do you need an accomplished, professional DUI attorney familiar with the Clayton County Justice System? With over 20 years of representing clients for DUI arrests in Riverdale, Jonesboro, Forest Park, and all over Clayton County, George C. Creal, Jr., P.C., Trial Lawyers is the Real Deal Clayton County DUI Law Firm. We know the Courts, the Judges, the Prosecutors, and the Police and they know we are ready to fight for each and every one of our client's rights. For contact information, check out our Clayton County directory. We’ve had an office located in Clayton County since 1996.
The current address is:
George Creal Jr., P.C.
720 Main Street, Forest Park, GA 30297
We use the National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration (NHTSA) manuals for DUI Detection and Field Sobriety Evaluations to build your DUI defense. We know the evaluation process and its weaknesses, and we can and will cross-examine police officers in order to expose the flaws of sobriety tests and prove their innocence. For more information on a solid DUI defense visits our Clayton County DUI Defense Guide.
Focused on Service, Dedicated to Winning, and Committed to Our Clients: The Clayton County DUI Lawyers You Deserve
We have handled thousands of DUI cases, had hundreds of DUI arrests reduced to non-DUI traffic offenses and reckless driving prior to trial, and won over a hundred DUI Jury Trials. Unlike other DUI firms, we have valuable Not Guilty Jury Trial Experience! Ask other lawyers when was the last time they heard a jury say “Not Guilty” in a DUI Case. You will be surprised at how many so-called “experts” cannot give you a straight answer.
DUI DEFENSE – DO I HAVE A CASE? OF COURSE!
Every Georgia DUI Case Has Potential. To truly evaluate your case, a competent DUI lawyer will need to look over the police reports, incident reports, video tape of the arrest, and 911 dispatch tapes, and at least attempt to speak with the police involved, although they are not required to talk prior to taking the witness stand.
Hiring a Clayton County DUI Attorney
For Our Firm, Client Communication is Essential
We do not hesitate to give you our office and cell phone numbers. If you call, text, or email us about your case, we will contact you as soon as possible and never more than 24 hours. We understand you are anxious about your DUI charge. We represent a diverse DUI and traffic clientele throughout the State of Georgia and provide our clients with the utmost care, efficiency, and compassion they deserve. After our representation, you should be confident in recommending us to your closest friends and family. This is our standard and our goal. Customer Service is priority one for our firm.
How to Hire a Lawyer for a Clayton County DUI
A Georgia DUI is Serious and May Include Serious Jail Time
Even for a 1st DUI you can be fined up to $1000.00 plus up to 40% tacked on as court costs. You can spend up to 12 months in jail, do 40 to 240 hours of community service, be subject to drug and alcohol testing for one year and serve 12 months of reporting probation. Also, your license can be suspended anywhere from 120 days to 5 years.
Advice as to who you decide to hire as your Clayton County DUI lawyer: 1) Don’t hire a DUI lawyer based solely on price. Sometimes the cheapest lawyer–especially if they plea you to a DUI you don’t deserve at the first opportunity–can be the most expensive. Cost per hour is the best way to compare lawyers. If a lawyer charges $1000, but only spends an hour on your case, that’s $1000 dollars an hour! We, unlike bargain basement firms, spend an average of 10 hours on every DUI case 2) Ask any attorney that you speak with whether he/she has tried any DUI jury trials and how many not guilty verdicts he/she has received in the past 2 years; 3) Ask any attorney that you speak with whether he/she has studied police field sobriety training manuals and breath test machine, owner’s and area supervisor’s manuals. If not, they cannot adequately cross examine DUI police officers or breath test operators. A DUI lawyer who can’t answer these questions is not ready for a real DUI jury trial and is not worth your time and money.
Our DUI Attorneys Help You Get Back on Track
We will take care of your DUI case so you can have your life back. Our initial consultation is always free and we will send a DPS ALS license hearing request letter for free as long as you pay the State Department of Driver Services $150.00 filing fee.
We’ve handled all types of DUI cases including those with or without breath and blood test results, refusals of blood, breath or urine tests, and cases with and without Standardized Field Sobriety Evaluations. We have handled DUI accidents and DUI fatalities, DUI Drugs, Fleeing and Eluding the police, aggressive driving, marijuana possession, serious injury by accident, felony, and misdemeanor obstruction. There is no set of facts our Clayton County DUI attorneys haven’t seen at least once. Through our experience, we have honed our DUI defense skills into a fine-tuned, methodical process that leaves no stone unturned and has the potential to win any type of Clayton County drunk driving case. Do not try to handle your DUI alone.
A Clayton County DUI lawyer is standing by. Call TODAY (404) 333-0706 or email us at [email protected] for a FREE CONSULTATION.
Clayton County DUI Court Information
The State Court of Clayton County in the Clayton Judicial Circuit is a state level trial court with limited jurisdiction covering misdemeanor criminal cases such as DUI and Marijuana possession less than an ounce and traffic violations. Criminal charges in the Clayton County State Court are prosecuted by the Office of the Solicitor General.
Tasha M. Mosley, Solicitor General
Email: [email protected]
The Judges of the State Court are:
- Linda S. Cowen, Chief Judge
- Michael T. Garrett, Judge
- Tammi Hayward, Judge
- Margaret Spencer, Judge
- Shalonda Jones-Parker, Judge
Important Steps for a Proper DUI Defense in Clayton County, Georgia:
1. Obtain a Police and Georgia State Patrol Incident Report:
Copies of Police Incident Reports can be purchased for $.10 a page at the Clayton County Police Headquarters from 8:00 AM until 6:00 PM.
Clayton County Police Department
7911 N. McDonough Street
Jonesboro, GA 30236
Phone: (770) 477-3747
Incident Reports from the Georgia State Patrol can be obtained in person or requested via:
Georgia State Patrol
959 E Confederate Ave Se
Atlanta, GA 30316
Phone: (404) 699-4368
2. Obtain Your Criminal and Driving History:
A seven-year driving history from the Georgia State Patrol and a criminal history record from the Georgia Criminal Information Center (GCIC) is important in deciding on an appropriate defense strategy.
For further information regarding GCIC, contact:
Georgia Crime Information Center
P.O. Box 370808
Decatur, Georgia 30037-0808
Email: [email protected] for questions regarding criminal history updates/modifications. Or [email protected] for questions regarding employment, licensing visa (travel), or any other non-criminal justice purpose.
- Option 1: Criminal History Inquiries regarding Expungement or Updates.
- Option 2: Applicant Background Information
- Option 3: Attorney or Public Defender
- Option 4: Livescan or Identification Inquiries
- Option 5: Internet Felon Criminal History
You can obtain a Seven Year Driving History from the Georgia Department of Driver Services online, in person, or by mail. A seven-year driving history costs $8.00.
Proper identification is required. If obtaining a motor vehicle record other than your own, the following is required:
- A signed authorization from the licensee naming the person authorized to receive the record. Form DDS-18(Request for Motor Vehicle Record [MVR]) is available for this purpose but is not required.
- The authorization form or letter must be original. Faxes or copies are not acceptable.
- The full name, date of birth, and Georgia driver’s license number of the licensee.
- The person receiving the report for another individual must show proper identification.
By Mail: You can obtain a copy of your Driving History (MVR) by submitting a letter (or Form DDS-18) requesting a 7-year MVR. The request should include the following:
- Your full name as it appears on your driver’s license
- Driver’s license number
- Date of birth
- Complete mailing address
- Self-addressed, stamped envelope
To obtain a copy of a Driving History (MVR) for someone else, please complete Form DDS-18 with all required signatures and information. Requests may be mailed to:
Georgia Department of Driver Services
Post Office Box 80447
Conyers, Georgia 30013
The fee is $6.00 for a 3-year history and $8.00 for a 7-year history. You may pay by personal or business check, money order, cashier’s check, or credit card. DDS accepts Visa, Mastercard, Discover, and American Express by mail. If paying by credit card and include with your request: Credit Card Authorization Form, Checks, money orders, and cashier’s checks should be made payable to the Department of Driver Services.
3. Attend DUI School
For first-time offenders, it is a good idea to attend DUI school. A DUI school certificate can be useful in the circumstances of an administrative license suspension. For repeat offenders, immediately attend and document Alcoholics Anonymous meetings and obtain a drug and alcohol evaluation from a qualified psychologist. Information concerning Georgia DUI alcohol and drug evaluations and how to set up an appointment for an evaluation can be found here: http://www.atlantapsych.com/article/georgia-dui-law. Our firm Recommends Darrell Grizzle, Ed. S. He provides all the required drug and alcohol evaluations at reasonable rates.
4. Revisit the Scene of Arrest.
Photograph the scene of the arrest in order to discover discrepancies in the police report regarding the initial stop and the reasonableness of the field evaluations like the one-leg stand and walk and turn.
5. Request a hearing with the Department of Driver Services:
Requesting a hearing with the Department of Driver Services within ten business days of the arrest may prevent an administrative license suspension. We will prepare and send a license letter to the Department of Driver Services free of charge ($150 DDS processing fee not included) even if you do not retain our firm.
6. Hire a DUI Lawyer:
Hire an experienced Georgia DUI lawyer. Never attempt self-representation in a DUI case. Georgia DUI law is very complicated, and to ensure a positive case result, is best left to experienced, professional lawyers.
Monday- Friday 8:00 a.m – 4:00 p.m.
The Harold R. Banke Justice Center
9151 Tara Boulevard
Jonesboro, GA 30236.
9151 Tara Blvd in Room 3SL01
Telephone: (770) 477-3380
Fax: (770) 477-3449
Judge Tammi Hayward trial team
Judge Kathryn Power trial team
To be announced Judge trial team