Call Now For A Case Evaluation
(404) 333-0706

Conviction License Suspensions

Atlanta DUI Lawyers | Georgia DUI Law

FREE CASE EVALUATION

Can a DUI be dismissed? Yes
Can I keep my license? Yes
Will it be affordable? Yes

Georgia DUI Conviction License Suspensions

A Person Convicted of a FIRST DUI in 5 YEARS in Georgia Will Have Their License Suspended as Follows:

  • The Driver’s license shall be suspended immediately upon their conviction or entry of a plea of guilty.
  • If you submitted to a breath or blood test, the convicted driver’s license shall be suspended for 120 days.
  • If you refused the State-administered test of your blood, breath, or urine, and the administrative suspension for refusal was not appealed or affirmed through the Georgia Office of Administrative Hearings, the convicted driver’s license shall be suspended for 1 year.
  • The convicted DUI driver may apply for a limited permit to drive to and from work, school, and the doctor, and at work if part of their regular duties, if the trial judge issues an affidavit of first conviction.

For a first DUI offense within 5 years, the convicted shall not be issued a new Georgia driver’s license until they submit proof of completion of a state-approved 20 hour DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program and payment of a $210 fee if processed in person or $200 if processed by mail. This amount can increase to $510 and $500 for repeat offenders.

A Person Convicted of SECOND DUI in 5 YEARS in Georgia Will Have Their License Suspended as Follows:

  • The driver’s license shall be suspended immediately upon their conviction or entry of a plea of guilty.
  • The convicted DUI driver’s license shall be suspended for 3 years.
  • There is no limited permit or work permit. However, after 120 days the driver may have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle with court permission and receive a limited permit to drive for 12 months. The license can be reinstated after 18 months with ignition interlock breath device installed on their personal vehicle.
  • The convicted driver must obtain a clinical evaluation and attend a minimum of 17 weeks of substance abuse treatment.
  • Attend a minimum of 20 hours state-approved DUI school.

The convicted Georgia DUI driver shall not be issued a new Georgia driver’s license until they submit proof of completion of a state-approved DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program and payment of a $210 fee if processed in person or $200 if processed by mail. This amount can increase to $510 and $500.

With One Click or Call We Can Begin Working on Your Georgia DUI Case

A Person Convicted of THIRD DUI in 5 YEARS in Georgia Will Have Their License Suspended as Follows:

  • The driver’s license shall be suspended immediately upon their conviction or entry of a plea of guilty.
  • The convicted DUI driver’s license shall be suspended for 5 years.
  • There is no limited permit or work permit. However, after 2 years the driver may have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle and receive a limited permit.
  • The convicted driver must obtain a clinical evaluation and attend a minimum of 17 weeks of substance abuse treatment. and a minimum of 20 hours at a state-approved DUI school.

The convicted driver shall not be issued a new Georgia driver’s license until they submit proof of completion of a state approved DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program and payment of a $210 fee if processed in person or $200 if processed by mail for a first offense within five years This amount can increase to $510 and $500.