Call Now For A Case Evaluation
(404) 333-0706

License Suspensions for Underage DUI

Atlanta DUI Lawyers | Georgia DUI Law

FREE CASE EVALUATION

Can a DUI be dismissed? Yes
Can I keep my license? Yes
Will it be affordable? Yes

What are the License Suspension for Georgia Underage DUI?

Under 16 Years of Age

If you are under 16 years of age and convicted of DUI or a Drug Offense pursuant to O.C.G.A. 40-5-22.1, you are not eligible for a driver’s license until you are17 years of age. If it’s your second offense, you are not eligible for a license until 18 years of age.  

Under 21 Years of Age – Administrative DUI Suspensions:

Administrative license suspensions are immediately entitled to a limited permit for work and school. If you are convicted of a DUI while under the age of 21, however, you are not eligible for a work permit. Administrative license suspensions are credited toward the DUI conviction license suspension even if a limited permit for school and work is issued. Consequently, drivers under 21 should let the administrative license suspension go into effect if there is no refusal.  Finally, if you get a DUI arrest while under 21 but the case is not resolved until after your 21st birthday, then the rules governing under 21 DUI license suspensions are not applicable. This means that if you are under 21, your 21st birthday is not soon, and you did not refuse the state administered chemical test of your breath or blood, then you should not send a 10 day letter to save your license. 

Under 21 Years of Age – Administrative DUI Suspensions:

O.C.G.A. 40-5-57.1 provides that, “If the [under 21] driver’s alcohol concentration at the time of the [DUI] offense was less than 0.08 grams [based on either blood test or breath test], [the under 21 driver] shall not be eligible for license reinstatement until the end of six months; or If the [under 21] driver’s alcohol concentration at the time of the offense was 0.08 grams or more, he or she shall not be eligible for license reinstatement until the end of 12 months.”  The reinstatement fee for a first such conviction shall be $210.00 or $200.00 if paid by mail. The reinstatement fee for a second or subsequent such conviction shall be $310.00 or $300.00 if paid by mail. A suspension provided for in this Code section shall be imposed based on the person’s age on the date of the conviction giving rise to the suspension.