On January 1st, 2010, O.C.G.A. Sec. 40-6-189, hits the law books commonly known as the Super Speeder law. The Super Speeder law provides that drivers who are convicted of driving 75 miles per hour or greater on a two-lane road or 85 mph or greater on any other road are classified as Super Speeders.
Super Speeders will be notified of their status by the Georgia Department of Driver Services within 30 days of their conviction and asked to pay an additional $200.00 fine. The notice is mailed to the address on their driver’s license. If they do not pay the fine within 90 days from receipt of the notice at their license address, whether they live there or not, will have their license suspended. The law that passed this code section also provides for additional fees for repeat DUI offenders in Georgia raising the cost of license reinstatement from $210.00 to $520.00 and $620.00.